High severity · published May 13, 2026
CVE-2026-44293
protobufjs: Code injection through bytes field defaults in generated toObject code
8.8
CVSS
0.4%
EPSS
No
On KEV
Description
protobufjs compiles protobuf definitions into JavaScript (JS) functions. Prior to 7.5.6 and 8.0.2, protobufjs generated JavaScript for toObject conversion could include an unsafe expression derived from a schema-controlled bytes field default value. A crafted descriptor with a non-string default value for a bytes field could cause attacker-controlled code to be emitted into the generated conversion function. This vulnerability is fixed in 7.5.6 and 8.0.2.
CVSS vector
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Attack vector
Network
Complexity
Low
Privileges
Low
User interaction
None
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High
Scope
Unchanged
Exploitation
Is it being used?
Exploit prediction (EPSS)0.4% · higher than 35% of CVEs
Exploited in the wildNo evidence yet
CISA KEVNot listed
Ransomware campaign useNot known
Affected products
Which versions
PR
protobuf.js · protobufjs
< 7.5.6; >= 8.0.0, < 8.0.2 · source: vendor
PR
Protobufjs · Protobufjs Project
before 7.5.6; 8.0.0 before 8.0.2 · source: NVD
RH
Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 for RHEL 9 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Build of Podman Desktop · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Developer Hub 1.9 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat Enterprise Linux AI (RHEL AI) 3 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat OpenShift AI 3.4 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA
RH
Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 · Red Hat
All versions, or not specified · source: CISA